20110731-120433.jpg

Evening all! And a beautiful evening it is too. The sun has been shining on Edinburgh this week, but sadly I have been indoors with the fluorescent lights instead.

I’ve been getting hair envy from reading Fluff and Fripperies, a blog from the beautiful Emma. Now, my hair has been in need of some tender loving care since I let the hairdresser douse it in bleach when I kissed goodbye to being a redhead. I’m loving the colour (blondest blonde), but I am most certainly NOT loving the condition.

In my efforts to save money (Kiehls and Shu Uemura are seriously over budget for me), I decided to go a little bit old skool and make a home made hair mask. I have a friend that swears by a mix of egg and olive oil to nourish and revive tired and damaged hair, so that’s what I did.

I mixed 2 eggs with about 20ml olive oil and 30ml argan oil, which I had left over from my trip to Marrakech earlier this year. I then smothered the mixture onto my damaged tresses, covered it in cling film (to minimise dripping) and left it to work its magic for 20 minutes. I then rinsed the concoction out of my hair and shampooed as with Herbal Essences Dazzling Shine Shampoo followed by Herbal Essences Dazzling Shine Conditioner (left on for 2 minutes before rinsing). I used a little Moroccan Oil through the ends of my hair before blow drying.

I have to say, I am very happy with the results, my hair definitely feels smoother and stronger. There are lots of variations on this mask and other home made conditioning treatments available online. I looked at Daily Glow and Girls Love Style before mixing up mine. I think I might try the avocado or banana mask in a few weeks!

