20110807-104537.jpg

I had a clear out a month or so ago and stumbled across a gift voucher I had received for my birthday last August. It was for a prescriptive Jessica manicure, and the expiry date was 8/8/11.

For weeks, I kept meaning to phone and book the appointment, but I wanted my nails to be nice BEFORE the appointment, so as to make the most off the pampering opportunity. Unfortunately, my nails are weak, and very rarely in good condition and, to quote one of my favourite films, “my nail-beds suck!”.

Last week, I stumbled across the unused voucher again and realised that the expiration date was fast approaching. I phoned the Balmoral Spa and practically begged them for an appointment. Fortunately, they had availability this afternoon. So off I went to be preened and pampered.

20110807-104024.jpg

The spa was very tranquil, and the manicure well executed. I chose a lovely coral colour called Juicy Melon (!) for the varnish. The finish is lovely, I just hope they last!

So tonight, here’s my tip: A voucher is only great if you use it. Be it a gift or a discount voucher, you’ve got to make sure you book it early. Groupon, Living Social, KGB Deals or Itison all have amazing deals but only if you take the time to USE them (will post more on this subject soon).

I’m heading to bed early tonight, and intend to get a good eight hours rest every night this week. I’m working on planning my meals and being organised to… you guessed it, save more money! Wish me luck.

